The Servants Quarters - 4 bedroom apartment - 4 separate bedrooms, can accommodate 8
- Extra large bath, separate shower and dual basins in bathroom
- Kitchen - full oven, refrigerator, dishwasher, microwave, all utensils, crockery etc
- All linen supplied
- Breakfast supplies available at extra cost
- Can accommodate 8 persons
- $25.00 per night for each extra person
- 110 sq metres
- Includes up to 4 persons
- Alarm clock
- Balcony / courtyard
- CD player
- Clothes line / airer
- DVD player
- Full kitchen
- In-room heater
- Iron & ironing board
- Non-smoking only
- Opening windows
- Refrigerator - full size
- Separate shower & bath
- Washing machine
- Wireless / WiFi
- 3 queens 1 double
We are extremely lucky in that Blue Mountains Manor House is in a quiet position. Most houses that have spanned 3 centuries have the highway or railway right on their doorstep.
We enjoy the peaceful surrounds of grounds and a small 19th century village.
The house has 13 ensuite rooms and 3 apartments all individually decorated with queen or king ensembles, feather doonas and electric blankets.
There are 10 ensuite rooms upstairs, 3 ensuite rooms and 2 apartments on ground level and 1 apartment with its own exterior entrance. 8 rooms have flat screen TVs with DVD players.
Many of our rooms access open verandahs overlooking gardens and grounds.
The Guest House comprises several sitting rooms, 3 with open fires. A billiards room, a sun room and a croquet lawn for guests to relax and enjoy. Excellent cuisine in elegant surroundings can be savoured in the Licenced Dining Room.
Blue Mountains Manor House is a non smoking property.
The York Room
This room was redecorated in 1900 in Roccoco style with very ornate anaglypta on the lower dado walls and ceiling. The 7 magnificent wall mirrors were commissioned and imported from Italy solely for this room. It was used as the ladies Drawing Room.
In 1927 the Duke and Duchess of York, later to become King and Queen of England (the queen mother) visited this room for refreshment on their tour through the mountains. This is now a comfortable sitting room with an open fire looking out the front of the house toward the Grose Valley.
The Fairfax Room
An unusual and popular sitting room with a double central fireplace and camellias cascading outside the windows. Guests can relax in comfort with tea and coffee at their disposal.
Separate Television Room
Catch up with the cricket scores or curl up with an old movie in comfy sofas.
An Old World pursuit for "ladies" and "gentlemen" after dinner with a glass of port or how about "shooting some pool?"
Just outside the Conference Room and a real suntrap, even in winter.
With today's ever-changing business world it's difficult to maintain a leading edge. One way is to escape your usual stale environment and hold your next conference at Blue Mountains Manor House . Superb accommodation and meeting facilities in an unequalled position overlooking a 19th century village with views of Mount Victoria. Within walking distance of the railway station and less than 2 hours from Sydney.
From strategy meeting to training sessions you need to be able to focus and to step away from the day to day routine and concentrate on the matter at hand - no better location then Blue Mountains Manor House !
The newly built and absolutely private Conference Room leads into the Sun Room and is 8m x 6m. Alternately the Dining/Conference Room is 10m x 4m.
~13 Ensuite Bedrooms
~ 3 Apartments
~12 - 50 capacity Conference Room
~6 breakaway rooms
Depending on the number our conferences have exclusive use of the house and are not disturbed by other guests or conferences.
The Mount Victoria Village nestled at the top of the Blue Mountains has an Urban Heritage listing, ensuring its architectural authenticity as a 19th Century Village. Enjoy a stroll through the quaint shops in the town or use the central location to visit the "Mounts", the caves or the many lookouts. Walking tracks abound for all standards.
Built in 1876 by John R Fairfax, founder of The Sydney Morning Herald, as a mountain retreat. In short a weekender though of grand proportions designed by architect/builder Alexander Dean of Manly in Sydney. It was originally situated on about 13 acres, which was about half of the village of Mount Victoria. John Fairfax died the following year and his two sons leased the house out until 1887. One of the tenants was Mr. Aiken, the British educator, commissioned by the eastern states to establish a public school curriculum. He opened a private boarding school. This was not a success and closed within a few years.
Mr. G. H. Cooper purchased the house furnished and after obtaining an hotel license opened Blue Mountains Manor House Hotel the Easter week of 1887. Many alterations occurred over the next eight years in the process of creating a tourist hotel but the beauty of the house remains with the Fairfax monogram still gracing the entrance and front of the main house. The name was changed to Cooper's Grand Hotel and remained so until 1966.
The hotel was inherited by the Cooper family and managed over the years mainly by his son-in-law and daughter and Mr. & Mrs. Hudson until the late 1930's.
During this time the full hotel license was relinquished. Rumour has it that Mrs. Hudson had become a prohibitionist.
Mrs. Ward, Cooper's granddaughter, was the proprietor from the late 1930's until the mid 1960's. She was noted as a very strong willed lady and did not believe in solicitors and such. This was to prove her undoing in that she entered into a contract to sell the property on a delayed settlement and never received payment at all. The agent involved in the contract sold the property to a religious body who had no knowledge of the "shady" deal and they then sold it to another religious sect, The Logos Foundation.
The property was broken up and houses built around the rear of it. The foundation housed a commune sort of affair with about 70 people living permanently. During this time the house was called Westwood Lodge and was listed by the National Trust as being a prime example of "Victorian Italianate". The Logos Foundation moved to Toowoomba in the mid 1980's and sold the property to the Patterson family in 1988.
The name was changed back to The Grand and was operated as a guesthouse until purchased by Colin and Annette Lenton in July 1991.
The reputation of the house had deteriorated and they went full circle in renaming the property The Manor House as originally stated by the Fairfax family. In keeping with the importance of the property in this World Heritage area it is now known as Blue Mountains Manor House.
They have owned, operated and constantly renovated the property from then until the current time, as recently as a major refurbishment in 2011. In a serious attempt to retain all the charm of the historic country retreat they have nevertheless introduced the comforts of modern living such as ensuites, central heating, new dedicated conference room and spectacular sunroom attached and billiards. They have re-introduced a garden and croquet lawn that had sadly disappeared under a car park.
Luckily it still retains it's grand stance on the hill with more than 2 acres of grounds.
Centrally located for so many sights, activities and adventure programmes
right at the very top of the mountains.
- Antique shops
- Speciality Shops such as ‘Trains, Planes and Automobiles’
- Mount Vic Flicks (how many villages this small have a cinema?)
- Bushwalking- including historical trails
- Tennis in the park opposite
- Lookouts and the famous Victoria Falls (Australia that is!)
- Rock climbing and abseiling
- Mount Victoria Great Train Weekend … last weekend in May
Within 20 minutes by car:
- Zig Zag steam railway
- Mount Tomah Botanical Gardens
- Mount Wilson Gardens
- Historic Village of Hartley operated by national Parks and Wildlife
- The 3 Sisters, scenic railway and skyway
- The edge Maxvision centre
- 3 golf courses
Within 50 minutes:
- Jenolan Caves
- Bathurst Mt Panorama Race Track
- Norman Lindsay Gallery
- Bilpin Orchards
- National Park Headquarters at Govetts Leap
- Megalong Valley
- Trout Fishing
- Horse riding
- Carriage rides
- Paint ball
- Lake Lyall boating and fishing